top of page


Eligibility guidelines

  • The awards are open to a former inmate or organization that supports a former inmate.

  • Nominees must know the individual/organization for at least 2 years.

Criteria for nominations

Nominations must meet all criteria to be eligible.

  • Former inmate/volunteer chaplain and/or organization must show extensive leadership, personal growth and involvement in the community.

  • Nominees must be 18 years or older and reside in Canada

  • details must be clear and relevant


One Love Evaluation Committee 

  • The evaluation committee will review all nominations.

  • Evaluation committee could nominate an individual/organization.


  • The award can be given to individuals who have shown notable progress in their rehabilitation journey, including the acquisition of new skills, completion of educational milestones, and active participation in self-improvement activities.

  • The award can be given to those who have overcome significant personal challenges, demonstrating resilience, determination, and a commitment to positive change.

To nominate an individual/organization, please send an email to before December 31st, 2024.

Past and Current Award Winners


Malcolm X Social Justice Award  

  • 2015 - Yasin Dwyer, former Chaplain at Corrections for 12 years.

  • 2016 - AbdurRashid Michael Taylor, longest standing Muslim Chaplain in Canada.

  • 2017 - Yusra Khogali, co-founder of #BlackLivesMatter-Toronto, a spoken-word artist, and community organizer.

  • 2018 - Yusuf Faqiri, founder and brother of the Justice for Soli movement.

  • 2019 - Warren Gambino, ex-inmate who was released after 10 years in prison on evidence later found inadmissible.

  • 2020 - Ras Bryan Rouse, Rastafarian Chaplain for 20 years in Canada.

  • 2024 - Imam Shakiru Ishola, volunteer Muslim Chaplain in Ontario Prisons for the past 25 years.

Tayyibah Taylor  Award   

  • 2015 - Tamara Fazal, successful reintegrated single mother.

  • 2016 - Shahina Siddiqui,  world renowned advocate against radicalization and racism.

  • 2017 - Bri-anne Swan, volunteer Pastor at Texas Institution for persons on death row.

  • 2018 - Elizabeth Rahman, co-founder of the Abraham Festival in Peterborough, ON.

  • 2019 - Orev R. Katz, Jewish Chaplain and Diversity Advocate.

  • 2020 - Kailey Oliver, student, mother, writer and creative curator.

  • 2024 - Emily O'Brien, ex-inmate and founder of Comeback Snacks.​

Ghulam Sajan Award

  • 2015 - Ahmed HabHab, successful reintegrated youth offender.

  • 2016 - Ibrahim Downey, chaplain for Corrections Canada and former inmate.

  • 2017 - Imran Ally, chaplain Peel Police and Imam at TARIC Islamic Centre for 15 years.

  • 2018 - Shakiru Ishola, volunteer prison chaplain for Corrections Canada.

  • 2019 - Joseph Grmovsek, served a federal prison sentence for insider trading.

  • 2020 - Andrea Tabnor, served a  prison sentence related to gang crimes and the founder of J-F Unity BBQ and president of Jane and Finch Unity Organization.

  • 2024 - Juma Kuol, served a prison sentence.

Lyla Ali Education and Community Service Award   

  • 2017 -  Rukya Omar, single mother and  student at University of Toronto who have demonstrated excellence in community service and academic achievements.

  • 2018 - Hodan Nayaleh, founder of Integration TV Media

  • 2019 - Joey Twins, advocate for injustices for Indigenous people.

  • 2020 - Andrea Page, advocate for youth mental health and owner of Fitmom.

  • 2024 - Randy Persaud, former inmate who served in a federal prison and is currently out on full parole.


Carl Rayaz Jadunandan Humanitarian Award

  • 2017 - Tia Tariq, self funded volunteer who assists Syrian Refugees cross the globe

  • 2018 - Sadro Usman, founder of Interfaith Deeds and supporter of incarcerated family.

  • 2019 - Mohammed Motiar, former juvenile inmate

  • 2020 - Jordan Moyer, former in-mate who served a federal prison sentence.

  • 2024 - Discontinued


One Love Award for Successful Re-Integration (New)

  •  2024 - Wayne Judge, served a prison sentence but today this proud grandfather is contributing to his community with gratitude.  Wayne is walking the path of healing  with courage and humility. 



One Love Award for Supporting Re-Integration (New)

  •  2024 - Maxcine Telfer - a champion who applies her motto “ be the best, outsmart the best” in her
    daily life.

bottom of page